Testimonials

Words That Matter About Back2Basics

When it comes to gratitude and rave reviews, don’t take our word for it. Read the words in the testimonials below from our former residents, parents and other professional colleagues to learn more about their experience with Back2Basics. These testimonials speak volumes, not just about our success, but about the success of our residents in continuing their life-long journey as sober adults, long after they’ve completed our Back2Basics and Beyond the Basics programs. When our residents are successful, then we are successful.

Resident Testimonials

Back2Basics has saved my life. I have experienced so much change in my mindset and I have gained some independence and confidence. The ability to work through my issues in a healthy manner and a group of people to keep me accountable was the formula I needed to create change. I really enjoy the outdoor adventures and going to see new beautiful places. Even though therapy is not my favorite thing I have got some of the most growth and personal recovery from it. I thought for so long therapy wasn’t for everyone and now I believe anyone can benefit from it. In addition to therapy. two other benefits that come to mind are the ability to get my life back on track and pursue some of the things we always wanted to and to find a community of sober friends who I love and can rely upon. If I could share with my loved ones, I would tell them I’m grateful for what I’ve accomplished here and some of the experiences I’ve had here inside and outside the residential program. It has helped me progress physically and mentally faster in six months that it would of taken years without the B2B program. I’m grateful to my family and what to thank my grandfather and grandmother, who have passed on, and my parents whose love and concern led them to find Back2Basics. I’m not sure if I would of stayed sober in Albuquerque and I’m grateful my father grew up her and knew what Flagstaff was about. Thanks Mom and Dad! – Michael (December 2017)

In the beginning fear kept me from looking for help, but my parents caring about and giving me one more chance to make a change in my life for the better was the break I needed to start this journey. I’ve been here for almost 2 months now and I can honestly say that Back2Basics is worth it. I still have work to do, but within this 60-day period I’ve experienced many results such as my mind being clear, living sober the entire time which is really good considering I haven’t been sober since I was 13 years old. The program is a mixture of a lot of things such as the group therapies and the therapists we get assigned to us to help us see clear on why we act and do the the things we do, have been really helpful. I really enjoy the outdoor trips we take. They are always a lot of fun and we do many adventures that I didn’t really do as I was ‘growing up’ under addiction. Truly, B2B is one of the best decisions I have ever made. If you are as sick as me, or if you’re searching for you dope every day and living a life of misery, you need this program. Take it from a junky– myself. You really can redo your life and make amends to all of your mistakes. Through B2B I’ve been given my life again. I was living every day smoking dope and popping pills and constantly trying to rob, steal, and lie my way to get what I wanted– a life full of sin. Now B2B has showed me paths to real moral greatness doing what is honestly right in life and guiding me in the right direction in life. I thank B2B every day for my sobriety and my new outlook on life. And I would also like to thank every one at B2B because I couldn’t be this far in the system without them. When I’m feeling low here at Residential, I can always count on the other members here to bring me back up. I also want to thank my parents for being financially stable enough to send me here because I know it is expensive, but I must say it is making me a better person. – Austin Polterock (December 2017)

If I would have stayed in college and maintained a lifestyle and GPA that I could have maintained, as well as taking care of my Grandma and not exposing her to friends constantly coming over to do drugs and smoke all night long, I don’t think I would be in this position now. But the truth is in reality I didn’t live up to my end of the bargain and gratefully my path led me to Back2Basics to get help. Back2Basics has taught me to live a sober life and how to structure it in such a way that is healthy, while giving me time to work on myself. The part I like the most about B2B is the structure of living that I wouldn’t have learned otherwise. The other part I really like is the outdoor trips and it grows each time I go out. The staff is awesome and so beneficial to me and my sobriety. If you have someone struggling with idea of coming to B2B, and learning to live a sober life, it is so worth it from the life skills and you will learn aspects about your personality that you can improve to help yourself. In fact B2B has taught me many things that I would love to share with my family. A couple of things are that this program has taught me that family is the only thing in life that is with you forever and will be there through thick and thin unlike friends. Also, I have learned how to be a great contributing member of society. I really would like to thank my parents, especially my Mom for being so involved in my life to realize when there was a problem that was bad enough to send me and I also want to thank the staff at B2B for actually loving me and caring about my future. Also the residents for being a family that was my back and can hold me and also me hold them accountable. – David Everett (December 2017)

The biggest obstacle that would have prevented me from coming to Back2Basics would have been time. If I stop and think about it, when I give it time and my head clears up I usually find a way out of the misery I’m in. Time heals the pain I’m in but if I gave it time, I would not be sober today. For me Back2Basics was worth going through the program for several reasons. When you come here initially, you become part of the family. You have the time to experience the ‘root’ of your addiction problem both on your own, in therapy and group sessions. I can actually be honest and vulnerable with other people now and to myself, and I’ve developed a more spiritual connection. I am in touch with my feelings and don’t feel the need to use alcohol and drugs. I found a will to want sobriety.

My favorite aspects of B2B is the outdoor adventure side of the program. I came to enjoy the outdoors and hiking. Staying physically fit is the first aspect to emotional and mental recovery from years of drug abuse, and this has really helped me to feel better about myself. Just being involved, living in the residential program and have a set schedule has helped me learn to be more secure with myself and deal with life on life’s terms. Back2Basics has helped me out so much, personally, It’s taught me patience and how to slow down my mind. It has taught me I have a passion for helping others and that gets me out of ‘self’. I couldn’t have done this without my parents for living me and caring enough to send me here. Thank you! – Kevin (December 2017)

If I had just been on top of my stuff in college, and putting in the time to study instead of just partying and hanging out with girls, or showing up to class high, I don’t think I would be here at B2B today. But as it happened, it was a blessing that I did all of that because my lack of being responsible and ability to manage school is what started the process to finding B2B and to learning to live sober.

Even though I’ve only been at B2B for just over a month, it has already made a tremendous difference in my life and led me to realize many of my weaknesses that I did not know I had. The next step in my journey is to find out how to work on these but I know I can do it. The therapy opportunities is where I have seen the most progress. It feels good to talk through whatever I need to in order to better myself. This combined with the outdoor adventure part is a good mix up to help me. I know recovery is not easy, especially for others facing the decision. At first I didn’t want to come to B2B and I was actually mad about coming here, but within a span of a week I realized how much the program could help me if I utilized all of the tools placed in front of me to my full ability. Overall Back2Basics has done a lot for me in my short time here and it has been amazing to me. I plan to use my time wisely to work on my weaknesses and come back a better man to those whom I hold dear. I’m just extremely grateful and want to thank my parents for making the hard decision for me that I couldn’t make for myself at the time and to loving me enough to send me here to B2B. – Andrew (December 2017)

I had no excuses besides the ones I dreamed up myself. I knew I wanted sobriety because the only outcome with the lifestyle I’d be living was death. All I needed to do was put half the energy in my using into a new way of life. Back2Basics was worth it to me more than I can put into words. It taught me to live life again, enjoy myself and others around me while being able to reconnect with my family that I’d put 2nd over myself for years and years before coming here. One of the classes I have loved learning is culinary. But, just being able to fine tune my skills through all of the classes and having the time to do so has also been important.

When it comes to the benefits of B2B, there has to be a point of surrender. Don’t try something if your not done drinking or dragging. Listening to others that have been there and done what you want has helped me more than anything. Also giving your whole self up to the AA program is a must. B2B has taught me that the person you grew up with a long time ago and got to know and loved is back. It was a long rough road to get back to where I am. I’d finally reached the light at the end of the tunnel. Although I’ve seen that same light many times before, the people at B2B helped me reach it faster than I thought possible.

Finally, I’d like to take this opportunity  to thank my Mom. My mother was the only person standing at the end of my disaster. Without her there is no doubt in my mind I’d be dead or in a hospital. She stayed next to me even when everyone was telling her not to, but could see something in me even I couldn’t see any longer. For that I’ll forever be grateful. – Rob (November 2017)

At first I didn’t want Back2Basics I had a fear of a life without drugs… a fear of leaving friends, family, my girlfriend at home, money and my willingness to get sober. My addict mentality was my biggest obstacle. B2B was the solution for me and I realized that it was all worth those fears. It gave me the structure to rebuild myself to begin a sober life that is in a safe and stable environment. Through guidance I learned the skills that I will be able to use and build upon to stay sober and live a healthy life, ultimately helping save my life.

The best part of the B2B program was the outdoor adventures. I thoroughly enjoyed them and feel that they hold a great amount of value to recovery. It’s time we get to journal, reflect, and share as a group that I enjoy and get the most out of. It’s the conversations with other guys around the camp or at the top of a mountain that stick with me the most and that helped me to find out things about myself. The relationships created at B2B can last a lifetime and you can gain a group of support that will always have your back. You are put into a positive environment where you can see real progress in people that helps to inspire you to do the work and make the changes. B2B has given me the supportive platform to get sober and allow me to have clear eyes and a clear mind. With my peers keeping me accountable and calling out my character defects I have been able to recognize characteristics I was not aware of and make progress in changing them to better myself. I would like to thank my family for finding this program and working with B2B to get me here when I was at a point of willingness and acceptance and I thank God for working through others to put this platform for recovery here that is saving people’s lives from the disease of addiction. – Austin W (July 2017)

At first I hesitated about trying Back2Basics because it was a 6-month residential program and I was trying to keep my job and finish school. But something clicked and I realized I needed to make the decision to come to B2B if I wanted to really create a long-term solution toward sobriety or nothing else would matter. B2B is worth it because it creates the foundation to set up your life such that you have life skills and tools to not use drugs and alcohol to cope with situations or any misfortunes that come about. B2B is also worth it because you can really figure out who you truly are and find what you need to become as an overall better person.

The part I like the most about B2B is the outdoor adventures, martial arts and hot yoga because it’s a time where I can think, reflect and change the things in the me that I want to become. I enjoy being in the wilderness and exploring new places. Martial arts helps me to learn about my body and self-defense. Hot yoga attracts me the most because I can truly tune into myself and stretch out my body in a peaceful uplifting environment and its also a form of meditation to be present. The other benefits to B2B is the therapy and talking to staff, residents and sponsors about my character defects and my personal problems. Understanding the concept of learning and having responsibilities and being accountable for every action I make has become a new awareness for me, along with the structured activities that help me get into a daily rhythm. I would like to thank B2B for their genuine  care and structure and their hard work for making these outdoor trips possible, and creating a positive atmosphere and helping us change for the better… hopefully for the rest of my life. – Zach (July 2017)

I recently went through the Back2Basics program to try and get help for my addiction to heroin and cocaine. As a male in my early twenties, it was easy for me to compare my behavior and drug use to the crowd I had been around for the last few years, but it eventually got to the point where I needed help. With the support of my parents, I was able to come to Back2Basics. I had been to treatment before so I had some skepticism about what would make this time any different but I knew I didn’t have any other options. I was greeted by an incredibly supportive group of guys that seemed to all share a common goal of sobriety, something which I hadn’t experienced with treatment centers in the past. – Eric

Life prior to Back2Basics was filled with pain, despair, and doubt. However, when I left Back2Basics in early March of 2017, my life was radically different. My earliest memories are of living with a crippling sense of social anxiety and feelings of social ostracism. Everything began to change during my sixth grade year, all of my feelings of inferiority, anxiety, and isolation began to accelerate. Once I found liquor and drugs, I learned that all those feelings could be shut away and I spent the next eight years hunting that fleeting feeling of inner peace that intoxication provided. And it worked.

For a long time I felt happy with myself, but bit-by-bit that began to deteriorate. Eventually, I found myself using drugs just to function and liquor just to stay “sane”. Then, I broke. There began my actual immersion into sobriety. Back2Basics combined almost everything that I wanted to incorporate into my life into their weekly schedule. Yoga, athletics, workout programs, a culinary program, and an immersive outdoor program; these were a part of my weekly and daily life, and they helped me to completely buy in to the Back2Basics process. It wasn’t ever easy. I constantly found myself challenged by my peers in communities and group therapies, and I had to confront my inner demons as I began to learn that these confrontations all came from a place of love. By the end of my year in Back2Basics, I learned how to start loving myself and began to start loving other people. This is the greatest gift anyone can ever receive, and Back2Basics led me there. For this gift, I will always be grateful to Back2Basics. – Ian M. (March 2017)

I came to Back2Basics in January 2017. I decided that I needed to try something different since I tried two 30-day programs one after another only to continue to relapse. B2B is what I decided on and it turned out that the most uncomfortable thing ended up to be the best solution for me.

On my trip to B2B I was crying on the plane with the drugs wearing off and realizing I was going somewhere new. From arriving at the Flagstaff airport, I quickly arrived at the house where I was to stay for six months. The greetings were warm and supporting. The feelings of unease were lessened immensely and I started into my 6-month program. It was easy and I had a lot of uncomfortable moments, facing others and facing myself. I worked through a lot of my feelings and some I’ll still be working on for time to come. I built friendships here… some I like and some I haven’t liked every day or I’m not even friends with, but they have still taught me something. The community I’ve built is something I want to continue to grow and keep.

Change is something I don’t usually like except this is change that makes me happy. As I’ve just completed Back2Basics, I’m not working on going through Beyond the Basics for my 6-month transition program instead of going back to California and being given my silver-spoon child luxuries. This idea is compelling to me because I’ve learned from my experience now at B2B that what is very uncomfortable is probably the best thing for me. – Derek

Back2Basics is absolutely worth it because I have been surrounded by the best people to go through the one of the hardest experiences of my life. I have gained the humility to surrender to drugs and alcohol and the guidance to move forward. I love to be outside so the outdoor adventure trips are where I feel my best. I love to hike, cook, set up camps and learn about my surroundings. The B2B community is hands down the number one benefit B2B has to offer. There is so much to b gained from being a part of this group. The benefits of this sober community are endless. Back2Basics has changed my life. The support I needed to change and look at everything that was ruining my life time and time again. The strength I found from the people around me has been priceless. – Alex

After the game and life had beaten me down there were no obstacles in place any longer and I was completely willing to come to Back2Basics for help. B2B is definitely a different sort of treatment center than I had ever been through. The staff and clinicians have done a great job in illuminating issues that had never been brought up before or where I fell short in previous attempts at sobriety. Because I’m acutely aware of these issues, I’ve been able to work on them and have seen positive growth. Personally, I enjoy the outdoor trips the most. The things we get to do do and see are unlike anything I’ve ever experienced before. I also enjoy culinary class as I’ve never cooked for myself or others before, either because I lacked the skill, confidence or desire. Now I feel comfortable in the kitchen and am looking forward to cooking for myself and loved ones when I graduate.

I know that I thought 6-months was a really long time, but I have to look at it as an investment in my future cause without this I wouldn’t be able to accomplish any of the things I want to do with my life. B2B has the best community that I have ever experienced in treatment that helps set us up for success in the future. I’m now more mentally and physically fit, I have improved my life skills and I have a solid support network to help guide me and keep me accountable both inside the program and when I get out. – Joseph (August 2017)

I was in a pretty dark place before I got to B2B. Nearly ruined every important relationship I had with family and friends. I knew things had gotten to the point where I needed some serious help. Having seen what addiction had done to my family from a different perspective guided me to accepting help. The idea of being in a 6 month treatment center was daunting and seemed quite scary coming into it. Looking back on my 6 month stay, I can honestly say now, it was the best thing that ever happened to me. I learned to take criticism from my pears and the staff guiding me to see what work I needed to do on myself.

I used to laugh when people said this program saved their lives, but now I can honestly say it has saved mine and built relationships back up with my family in a stronger way than ever. Now being in the transitional phase of B2B gives me the opportunity to put all the work I have done to the test in the real world. There is always work to be done, but I’m glad to say that I’m in a place that helps me continue that work. – Chris M.

My experience at Back2Basics has been instrumental in helping me to maintain long term sobriety. The 6-month residential program allowed me to give sobriety a chance, as well as heal mentally, emotionally, and physically. The outdoor NAU trips such as the San Juan kayak trip and the Colorado River trip were definitely big highlights in my stay. Participating in the training in those events was tough, but so worth it. The NAU outdoor program was very accommodating to us and provided us with good safe fun. I have been able to experience things I never even considered possible. I also had the chance to travel to Mexico with a select group of guys about two months into my stay. Getting out of the snow and into the warm southern sun was a relief to say the least. I was able to rekindle a lost love for surfing and enjoyed the local cuisine. I can’t thank Back2Basics enough for that opportunity of a lifetime.

Through the long-term portion of B2B, I have been able to see myself grow immensely since when I arrived. I was an entitled and immature, and I had no perception of real life. Since then I have been able to realize the true value of working for a dollar, and I believe I have made big leaps with maturity. I have learned how to successfully handle finances and manage my own priorities and commitments in life. Sobriety has enabled me to enjoy work and play as a result of managing priorities in my life. Back2Basics has given me more tools than I ever wanted to be a successful member of society. – Weston

My experience at Back2Basics was instrumental for me and my sobriety. I met some amazing people along the way that helped me become a better son, brother, and friend. The staff, as well as my fellow residents, were there every step of the way to help support me on my journey to sobriety.

I arrived at Back2Basics May 16, 2015 and at first I was extremely nervous and scared because I honesty didn’t know what to expect. But, I was hopeless and I had run out of options, getting sober was the only thing that I knew I could do to have a better life. On arrival I was met at the door by all of the residents and staff. Everyone was very friendly and willing to help me in anyway that they could. I will never forget my first outdoor adventure trip, although I was still not feeling 100%. I remember the drive to Moab, Utah, seeing Arches National Park and going paddle boarding because it was the first time that I realized that I could be happy while being sober. Although it wasn’t all fun and games, I was forced to look at myself for the very first time and actually deal with my issues instead of mask them with drugs and alcohol. During my time at Back2Basics I had some of the best and toughest times of my life but no matter what, the community and the staff were always there to support me as well as showi me that there is a better way to live than how I had been living prior to coming to Back2Basics. – Logan B

Prior to B2B, my life was in shambles. I had very few meaningful relationships, my family didn’t trust me, I was unreliable, I couldn’t hold a job, and I could not stop using drugs. Five years ago, I went to a high-end 30 day treatment center. Six days after my release I got my first DUI. I was pampered at that rehab but none of my real issues were uncovered. It was just an expensive detox. B2B offered me a different experience. The outdoor aspect allowed me to connect to nature and a part of myself that I have not known for a long time. It helped me learn to rely on myself and build confidence in my abilities. It also showed me the beauty and fun of the world I had not seen in the years of heavy drug use. The residential side of the program offered me growth through the individual, and group therapy. I was able to dig in to my deep seeded issues, and work on them. My peers called me out on my flaws and helped keep me honest, (something I struggled with when I was using). I was also able to work on my cleanliness, my cooking, and my general health. I found old passions and developed new ones.

While I was not crazy about the program being six months, I have come to realize that it was my best option for long term sobriety. In fact, I also agreed to do the transitional living phase. A lot has changed for me since being here. One of the biggest things for me is that I have a great relationship with my parents again. I have always been close to them, but after years of using, our relationship suffered immensely. They and I thought that our relationship could never be the same. After our family weekend and a few other visits, I know that what we thought is true. – Tyler H.

My experience at Back2Basics was an interesting one to say the least. Residential was pivotal in bringing me up to speed with all the basic life skills and human interactions that I should have acquired before in life. It’s surprising realizing how clueless I was when faced with simple tasks such as cooking and cleaning. Re-learning all these things over again gave me the confidence necessary for me to rediscover what my real passions are and reveal new ones. One thing I didn’t expect to discover during my stay here, which turned out to be one of the cornerstones of my sobriety, is how to have fun again. When I arrived I had my prior notions of what sobriety was and what it could be. However, after building relationships with my fellow residents and the staff, I realized that sobriety could be fun. It was here that I learned how to have a sincere laugh again and have real relationships with people again. I didn’t realize how much I had lost in my addiction until I observed how much I had gained upon graduating the residential program.

It’s difficult to put my finger down on the one thing that makes this program work. All I know is that throughout my stay something just clicked and it happened right under my nose. Seeing it happen to others who came after me really solidified my belief that there’s something at work here that’s lacking everywhere else. I came here with the simple intention of not wanting to live the way I was ever again and just through being active in the program, that intention was fulfilled along with so much more. One of the greatest of which is that now I can call myself a son to my family. Something I couldn’t have said only just a year ago. – Brad

A Resident’s Journey From Addiction To Sobriety

My experience at Back2Basics was unlike anything I had ever known. Life prior to Back2Basics was filled with pain, despair, and doubt. However, when I left Back2Basics in early March of 2017, my life was radically different. I was born just outside of Boston, Massachusetts in May of 1993. Some of my earliest memories are of living with a crippling sense of social anxiety and feelings of social ostracism, but those memories are mixed with various moments of contentment and joy. I found my peace as a kid when I was playing sports, enjoying the outdoors, and reading. I always excelled in these venues, as well as academically.

Everything began to change during my sixth grade year in elementary school. My father and my grandmother died that year, and I also almost died due to complications from an appendectomy. At this point, all of my feelings of inferiority, anxiety, and isolation began to accelerate and did so until I found drugs and alcohol. Once I found liquor and drugs, I learned that all those feelings could be shut away and I spent the next eight years hunting that fleeting feeling of inner peace that intoxication provided. And it worked. For a long time I felt happy with myself, but bit-by-bit that began to deteriorate. The false bravado that I had created for myself started to fail as I began to receive social and legal consequences ranging from arrests to expulsion from my college of choice.

Eventually, I found myself using drugs just to function and liquor just to stay “sane”. Then, I broke. For me, that looked like an inability to work enough to support myself. It looked like a deep depression that made a bottle, my bed, and a television the only things I could appreciate. When I woke in the morning, it was nearly impossible to leave my bed, and I cursed a God I didn’t believe in for keeping me on this earth; and I couldn’t see any connection to drugs and alcohol.

Eventually, my roommates kicked me out and my parents offered me rehab as an alternative. I chose to go to a twenty-one day program in Connecticut because I felt trapped, but I had no intention and no desire to be sober. After beginning to sober up and discovering the bond that people searching to change their lives together experience, I began to come around to the concept of temporary sobriety.

At this point, my parents asked me to stay in rehab for 100 days, as they had read some article on neuroscience that supported this mark as the point at which the brain truly begins to heal. I left my life behind, recognizing the opportunity that starting fresh presented, and I traveled to Arizona to join Back2Basics. There began my actual immersion into sobriety.

Back2Basics combined almost everything that I wanted to incorporate into my life into their weekly schedule. Yoga, athletics, workout programs, a culinary program, and an immersive outdoor program; these were a part of my weekly and daily life, and they helped me to completely buy in to the Back2Basics process. It wasn’t ever easy. I constantly found myself challenged by my peers in communities and group therapies, and I had to confront my inner demons as I began to learn that these confrontations all came from a place of love. I learned how to trust the men that I went through program with as I listened to them unrelentingly question my motives and my actions with the hope of helping me grow. Slowly, I grew an internal confidence, something I have never had before, as I preserved through miles and miles of hiking, desperately waiting for the next water source. And that confidence only grew during the transitional living program, as I failed time and again in my attempts to live real life my way, but worked with the staff to learn from my mistakes with the hope simply to improve the next time life threw me a curveball.

By the end of my year in Back2Basics, I learned how to start loving myself and began to start loving other people. This is the greatest gift anyone can ever receive, and Back2Basics led me there. For this gift, I will always be grateful to Back2Basics. – Ian M. (March 2017)

Parent Testimonials

Our family and son are in a more purposeful and peaceful place today because of Back2Basics. Our way of life was turned upside down due to our sons addiction. Roy and every staff member at B2B have been responsible for steering our son back to his true self through the structure at B2B. What they do works, and it’s within a homelike environment with truly caring individuals looking out for our sons well being.

There are 6 other boys in our neighborhood who a year later are either in jail, in and out of 30 day treatments centers, back on the streets, or dead. We are so glad we listened to the professionals and went the full year, first 6 months, then the 6 months sober living environment B2B provides. Our son will be graduating, but remaining in the wonderful recovery community within Flagstaff. He’s looking forward to continuing to work, attend college, and live up to the potential he was born with. – Daniel F.

As a parent who was close to every stage of my son’s decline into and continuing climb out of addiction I wish I knew then what I know now. By the time B2B came to my attention, I knew the first step in recovery was a willingness to change by the addict. The first thing that I discovered about B2B in the intake interview was they are experts in accessing this crucial first step and picked up over the phone interview some of my son’s blind spots that had led to relapses in past treatment centers.

Once in treatment my son started to do what he had done in previous rehabs, he started to “do his time” in order to get through another program and move on. The difference this time was B2B, due to their level of experience, their professionalism, their genuine care for my son, they would have none of it. As my son has said on several occasions, they cared enough to hold him accountable to allow himself to observe, both his positive and negative attributes. This “loving confrontation” combine with the outdoor activities challenged my son to face weaknesses and develop strengths to overcome some very negative perceptions that come with addiction.

His experience at B2B became not only a time of great growth and maturity in my son but also a time that showed him life can be fun again. The hopefulness restored during his stay was a great joy to observe as a parent. – Tom Z.

B2B has made an extremely positive difference in our lives and specifically for our son Thomas. It has been a positive experience from start to finish. B2B has allowed Thomas to live in a safe and structured environment and providing the support necessary to maintain his sobriety after leaving a wilderness program. B2B was very caring and expedient during the admissions process. When bringing our son to B2B, we were only there for a matter of an hour or two. Paperwork at the office and then to the house where he would be spending the next 6 months. I felt really good about the house and the people we were leaving our son with. We went back to Flagstaff about 1/2 way through the program for a family workshop. It was a very meaningful and productive visit. We spent quite a bit of time at the house for meals and got to know the staff and residents. Everyone made us feel so genuinely welcome and at home.

My son is still the same person, but at the same time he is someone I don’t recognize. He has worked hard to make positive changes in his whole life with the support, compassion and caring of B2B. When he came home for a family visit, the 1st thing he did was find a 12 step meeting for the next day and at the dinner table I asked if anyone would like to say grace, he immediately stepped up, something I wasn’t expecting. Thomas has come a long way and I really have to thank B2B for his journey. B2B certainly has our recommendation for a top notch sober living & outdoor adventure program. I truly believe that if Thomas had come home immediately after the first six months, he would not be where he is today. – Kathy

By the time my son entered Back2Basics his life was spiraling out of his control. He couldn’t hold a steady job or complete school, staying out all night, sleeping all day, he was irritable all the time, nothing was fair, he was always asking for money, or finding a way to get it. The “sketchy behavior” as I called it, was to a point that I could no longer let it go on or he was going to end up in jail or dead. We had tried out-patient rehab and a traditional rehab, and neither worked. I stumbled across Back2Basics, called and immediately spoke to Roy. He was honest, down to earth, and had an opening. I told my son about it and although he wasn’t too excited I knew he didn’t want to live the life he was, and couldn’t quit on his own. I put him on the plane and prayed it would work. The staff was great and kept me posted.

My son was not the easiest person to deal with. He had experienced a lot of trauma by the age of 16, more than most do in a life time. He started to use to hide and kill the pain. He no longer trusted anyone. He didn’t believe in himself or that life was important. He had been to many therapists and no one could break through his tough exterior. He had a large chip on his shoulder and it was his way or the highway. He also has a presence about himself, which is a blessing and a curse. The staff helped him to trust, open up, believe in others and himself. This was not an easy road and at times I didn’t think he was going to finish the program. This helped him to realize life was important. – From B2B Parents

My 21 year old son completed the six month program at Back 2 Basics (“B2B”) and then attended the transition program, Beyond the Basics, for six more months. It is hard to put into words how thankful I am for this fantastic rehabilitation program that saved my son’s life. B2B understands addiction and they can help a person learn to live a sober and happy life. The emphasis is not to simply avoid their addictions… but rather it is to guide the men to learn how to enjoy life without drugs and alcohol.

The outdoor adventure aspect of the program was a perfect fit for my son who is an outdoor enthusiast and adrenaline junkie. I found the people in charge of the program are good people who care and are compassionate. They were able to give concrete solutions to the issues that can trip up addicts and put them back into relapse. My son learned to work a 12 step program and has had two different sponsors who have helped him during difficult times. The best part of the program is the sense of community among the graduates of the program. This network of young men enjoying life in recovery serves as a huge support to the men in treatment and for those transitioning out of Beyond the Basics into independent living. My son was most certainly destined for jail or the morgue and now he is thriving in his second year of college. He has matured so much since his sobriety and as the years pass, I now see the happy and grounded son I lost so many years ago to addiction. I highly recommend this program as sending my son to B2B has proven to be one of the best decisions I have made for my son’s future. – From a Grateful B2B Mom

It’s been a year of growth and healing for John* and our family. Thank you for caring for him in the way that only professionals with your knowledge, compassion and experience can. I hated to admit my limitations as a mother, but I knew we couldn’t give John what he needed. He’s healthy, happy and ready for the next chapter thanks to your tough love and support. I can’t express how grateful I am that you were there for us as we stumbled through a scary and unfamiliar road. (November 2014). – From a B2B Mom

I hope you and your family are having a wonderful holiday. Jan and I spent Christmas with Brandon in Flagstaff, AZ. The transformation in his personality and motivation has been Truly remarkable. He will shortly complete the 6 month program and will be returning to school. For the foreseeable future, he intends to remain in Flagstaff because as he put it, that is where his support system is already in place. Brandon has a sponsor and has made new friends who are involved in and committed to pursuing a life of sobriety. Even though we know that Brandon still has a lot of hard work ahead of him, the turn around so far is nothing short of an answer to our prayers. Thank you for helping us find this program. – Anonymous B2B Parents of Brandon

A Parent’s Journey Of Love For His Son

As a parent who was close to every stage of my son’s decline into and continuing climb out of addiction I write this testimony with the mind set of, I wish I knew then what I know now. You are reading this most likely because you are facing the same crises that all parents face when the reality of addiction becomes impossible to ignore. All the denying, bargaining and depression that our loved one can somehow will his way out of this nightmare becomes painfully impossible. This was the time that as a parent I tried to become an expert in the recovery of addiction. I read online reviews with recovery rate statistics, with philosophies on how best to obtain relapse prevention, etc. My son’s experience was, many rehabs with good, well meaning, caring individuals lead to the same result, relapse.

Along this journey I became aware of the difference between relief and recovery. By the time B2B came to my attention, by the way of God’s blessing, I knew the first step in recovery was a willingness to change, this is only accomplished internally by the addict. The first thing that I discovered about B2B in the intake interview was they are experts in accessing this crucial first step and picked up over the phone interview some of my son’s blind spots that had led to relapses in past treatment centers, thankfully, with some concern they agreed to admit him. You need to be confident that the recovery of the addict, not the relief of the parent or profit incentive of B2B, is the first priority of B2B. Once in treatment my son started to do what he had done in previous rehabs, he started to “do his time” in order to get through another program and move on.

The difference this time was B2B, due to their level of experience, their professionalism, their genuine care for my son, they would have none of it. As my son has said on several occasions, they cared enough to hold him accountable to allow himself to observe, both his positive and negative attributes. This “loving confrontation” combine with the outdoor activities challenged my son to face weaknesses and develop strengths to overcome some very negative perceptions that come with addiction. In my opinion this experience at B2B became not only a time of great growth and maturity in my son but also a time that showed him life can be fun again. The hopefulness restored during his stay was a great joy to observe as a parent.

That said, I believe the strongest asset of B2B in my opinion, is their commitment to the program of Alcoholics Anonymous. Through some of the staff’s personal journeys, B2B has the ability to walk the client through the steps that lead to a program of recovery. B2B mirrors the service to others as examples that I am convinced is the model for long term sobriety. – Tom Z.

Professionals Testimonials

Over the many years that I have been in clinical practice in the addiction field, I have had the opportunity to work in both short-term residential and outpatient settings. After more than a year of working at Back2Basics as a primary therapist, I realized the genuine benefits of long-term treatment and eventually was offered the administrative role as Clinical Director. With the proper blend of activity, knowledge based and spiritual learning experiences, B2B Residents embrace real change in their lives. From my perspective as the therapist, this incredible assembly of staff and activities opens the door to more successful outcomes. Simply put, clients remain clean and sober! – John Valvo, MA, LISAC, LPC

When I am thinking about inpatient treatment for a young adult man, the first place I ask families to consider is Back2Basics Outdoor Adventures in Flagstaff, AZ. Founder and owner, Roy DuPrez, M.Ed operates a clinically sound and thoughtful program geared to the need all young men have for a sense of adventure, in addition to a therapeutic environment.

Often, a young man who is trouble with drugs and/or alcohol has not fully developed a clear and competent identity apart from his addiction; nor has he explored and expanded on his own strengths, gifts and talents. When he becomes a resident at Back2Basics, he will begin the task of arresting his addiction as he stretches and learns to become competent in the outdoors, work as a trusted team member, and develop the social and emotional skills needed to be successful in his life beyond treatment.

Roy and the other male staff members are excellent role members as healthy and mature men, who know how to live with integrity in sobriety, bring forward their own gifts and talents, and have fun and adventure at the same time. The women on the staff provide a real world balance to the mostly male environment. All model appropriate boundaries, while maintaining a good sense of humor, which is essential in treatment and in life. I highly recommend this excellent program. – Sonnee D. Weedn, Ph.D.

I love working with the team at Back2Basics. The hybrid of outdoor treatment and traditional recovery based work is a great combination to get young men grounded and on their way to sustained recovery. I love working with the team at Back2Basics. The hybrid of outdoor treatment and traditional recovery based work is a great combination to get young men grounded and on their way to sustained recovery. – Brenda Loringer

Working for Back2Basics for the last few years has given me the opportunity to see the transformative power this group of caring individuals has had on so many lives. To see residents enter this program with no hope for a future and leave equipped with not only the motivation to succeed, but the tools needed to make it in the world is truly one of the greatest experiences. I am honored to be a part of this program. – Carly Banks

Back2Basics is the first company that I have witnessed who truly has risen to the top and exhibits the essence of this same goal within their own culture. They strive to make a positive and lasting difference in young men’s live… men who are addicted to drugs and/or alcohol. These men, once they go through the B2B program, learn to create this positive and lasting change within themselves so they can live a life of sobriety. As they graduate and transition, they leave the B2B program ingrained with the same goal of continuing to make a positive difference not only in their life, but in the lives of others they meet along their journey. It is amazing to see them pay it forward and impact their family and friends! – Debra Roedl

Make the decision to live sober today!

We Can Help

Sobriety is a Journey... Not a Destination.

Back2Basics Outdoor Adventure Recovery offers a six-month residential program for substance abuse and alcohol treatment for young adult males 18-30 years of age and is a “private pay” program. Back2Basics uniquely combines the 12-Step Program, Outdoor Adventure Recovery and our Residential Living Program to provide the best possible treatment to achieve long-term sobriety.

Email or Call Today for a Free Consultation
(928) 814-2220